Why I am an Agnostic Polytheistic Fundamentalist

I am an agnostic. I don’t believe it is possible to know that God does not exist. He could be hiding on Mars, or in my shoe, or playing video games on the boardwalk. It might be possible to know that he’s not relevant (“dead,” in the old phrase), or to believe that he has turned his back on humanity. But being completely certain that he absolutely does not exist is not possible.

On the other hand, if he does exist, it is possible to believe many incompatible things about him. He is a force, or a person, or several persons; he is terribly absent, or terribly active, in the world as we know it; he loves us all, or he hates us, or some mix thereof. It is confusing, and a lot of people are confused.

Which brings me to the second point. There is this human urge to consolidate and simplify. We crave a sort of God Central, like a federal government, that stands at the top of the heap and calls the shots. God can do anything, except possibly to make a rock so big he can’t lift it. My God can beat up your God. It’s overkill. If nature teaches us anything, it’s that living things diversify. We have many kinds of humans and birds and cockroaches. So if we have any gods at all, we probably have multifarious kinds of gods.

So I’m an agnostic polytheist. I don’t know if there’s a God; but if there is, there’s probably more than one. This is a reasonable position. In fact, there doesn’t seem to be any reason why it would not be a reasonable position. And that’s why I am a fundamentalist: I’m sure I’m right.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comments

  • kagmi  On July 29, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    I’ve found it interesting to study how some people seem to have an easier time with ambiguity and/or multiplicity than others. Specifically, those whose brains are attuned to fear and defense don’t seem to like either. That’s understandable, I guess. When you’re primed to look for threats in the environment, ambiguity is not your friend.

    I like to look for ways to reconcile our drastically varying (often contradictory) ideas about God into a whole (multifaceted) understanding. But if fear makes multiplicity go out the window, I worry about how sustainable such religious tolerance may be…

  • mh2468  On December 12, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    The polytheistic religion of Hill Evidencism is only based on evidence and logic: http://hill-evidencism.blogspot.com/.

Leave a Reply

